EDUCATION AND TRAINING

APPROVED CEU's


We're continuing our online training series for well owners as well as offering opportunities specifically for professionals who work with well owners. Follow the links to learn more:

For Well Owners:

For Environmental Health Professionals:

For Real Estate Professionals:


The Private Well Class is able to offer continuing education units (CEs) through the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) for attending our webinars. 

The Private Well Class Team

Copyright © 2017 PrivateWellClass.org, All rights reserved. 
You are receiving this email because you opted in at our website or by phone. 

Our mailing address is: 

PrivateWellClass.org

Illinois State Water Survey

2204 Griffith Drive

Champaign, IL 61820



 

Renewable Fuels Association and TRANSCAER® are jointly hosting their fourth ethanol safety seminar this year for ethanol emergency response teams. The webinar will be held on Wednesday, August 2, 2017.

 

The “Train the Trainer” webinars, funded through a Federal Railroad Administration / TRANSCAER® grant, are a pay-it-forward type of program. A single webinar can train a group of individuals, who can then turn around and pass that information forward, equipping entire communities with the knowledge necessary to respond to any potential ethanol-related emergency

 

The webinar is intended to develop instructors to lead operations-level training. The webinar, led by national hazardous materials trainer Joel Hendelman, is open to all professional individuals above the technical level of training who are interested in learning how to teach ethanol emergency response. These professional individuals must also have an awareness level of hazardous material storage, handing and emergency response. The webinar is intended to develop instructors to lead operations-level training.

 

All webinars will be held from 12pm to 2 p.m. ET. Registration is free, but is limited to the first 100 attendees per webinar. Certificates of attendance will be awarded following the completion of the safety seminar.

 

For more information or to register, visit www.rfa.traincaster.com.

 

 


National Ground Water Association Webinars


Drought and Your Water Well
July 25, 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 9 a.m. MT, 8 a.m. PT)
Register
Water Well System Components Vital to Water Quality
August 8, 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 9 a.m. MT, 8 a.m. PT)
Register
Turbid Well Water and What to Do About It
August 15, 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. MT, Noon PT)
Register
Shock Chlorination: What You Should Know
August 23, 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. MT, Noon PT)
Register
Planning for a Water Well
September 6, 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 9 a.m. MT, 8 a.m. PT)
Register


Iowa Onsite Waste Water Association (IOWWA)

2017 training schedule


RECENTLY ADDED WORKSHOP
Heartland Hills Habitat for Humanity Housing Site New Installation - Waterloo Biofilter!
Friday, August 25, 2017, Waverly IA
~ Earn 6.0 hours of continuing education. 

Habitat for Humanity Waterloo Biofilter Installation
Date: Friday, August 25, 2017 - Check-in: 8:00 AM
AM Session: 8:30 AM -12:15 PM, Waverly Civic Center, 200 1st St., NE, Waverly IA
PM Session: 12:30 - 3:30 PM, Habitat for Humanity Housing Site, Waverly IA
Registration Fee:  IOWWA Member $100.00 | Non-Member: $190.00
CE hours:  6.0 – approved for CIOWTS credential

On August 25, 2017 Andy McKinlay, Head of Business Development, Waterloo Biofilter, will be presenting the benefits of their system for a new installation at the Heartland Hills Habitat for Humanity site.

Agenda:
8:30 – 8:45 AM – Introduction, history of the site – Bob McKinney, RD McKinney Plumbing and Excavating
8:45 – 9:00 AM – Roth tanks (proud supplier of the tank) – Will Boston, Des Moines Winsupply
9:00 – 10:00 AM – Introductory of the Waterloo Biofilter – Andy McKinlay, Waterloo Biofilter
10:00 – 10:15 AM – coffee break and tend to business calls
10:15 – 11:45 AM – Testing, service and maintenance and benefits of the Waterloo Biofilter system – Andy McKinlay
11:45 AM - 12:15 PM – Lunch
12:30 – 3:30 PM – On-site work: backfill of the Waterloo Biofilter and operation of the system - Andy McKinlay

We are also looking for volunteers to help with the installation.   If interested, please contact Bob McKinney, 515-202-2319 or email bob@rdmpe.com .

Questions concerning the Waterloo Biofilter - please contact Andy McKinlay, 778-231-3563 or andy@waterloo-biofilter.com.

Questions concerning the workshop - please contact IOWWA, 515-225-1051 or shirley@avinsandinc.com.

                            


SITE EVALUATIONS AND SOILS

Monday, September 25 - Check-in 7:30 AM
Workshop 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Iowa Lakes Community College, 3200 College Dr., Emmetsburg IA
Cost: Members: $100.00 / Non-Members: $190.00

Dan Wheeler, University of Minnesota will provide an overview of the critical steps in the site evaluation and key aspects of soils.

» More Information     » Register Now!


HYGIENIC LAB SAMPLING

Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - Check-in: 7:30 AM | Workshop 8:00 AM to 3:00 PM
State Hygienic Lab, 2220 S Ankeny Blvd., Ankeny IA
Cost: Members: $100.00 / Non-Members: $190.00

This course will be held at the State Hygienic Lab.

» More Information     » Register Now!

Iowa Onsite Waste Water Training Center

2017 Workshop Schedule




Basics of Onsite 101 - Ankeny

Monday, October 30, 2017
DMACC-FFA Enrichment Center, RM 208, Ankeny, IA

The workshop provides a basic understanding of the functional characteristics of conventional septic systems and alternatives that are commonly used in Iowa. This course is a prerequisite for the Time of Transfer Certified Inspector Program, for those with less than two years of experience.

» More Information     » Register Now!


Illinois Online Well Classes

 

The new Private Well Class will provide information about private water supplies through the use of class modules that will be emailed to the subscribers.  This will allow the individual to participate at their own pace.   Those who participate in the class will have access to the tools a well owner needs to ensure a safe water supply and help extend the life of their well.  Participants will gain an understanding of the basic science of water wells and the benefits of using best practices to maintain and protect their water supply.

The following topics will be covered in the ten part email course:

  • understanding how groundwater moves and gets into your well
  • how water gets from your well to your faucet
  • basics of well construction and the type of well you have
  • how groundwater and wells get contaminated
  • common operations issues for well owners
  • how to care for and maintain your well, pump, and infrastructure
  • testing your well water and ensuring water is safe to drink
  • understanding test results and fixing water quality problems
  • understanding regulations that affect you
  • what to do in an emergency or equipment failure
  • where to find help and get questions answered locally

The lessons provided through emails will be reinforced by the use of monthly webinars which the participants can attend as often they wish -  even after the emailed class materials have ended.  There will also be opportunities to ask questions and be given additional information in the well related topics that interest you.  To find out more about how the classes will work, click here.


 


Save

 Environmental Health:  It is Everywhere, Everyday!   ~    Non-Profit Organization (501c) Information   ~   

 Please contact akdevereaux@yahoo.com for website assistance           

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software